Houses of the Oireachtas

All parliamentary debates are now being published on our new website. The publication of debates on this website will cease in December 2018.

Go to

Written Answers - Appointments to State Boards

Tuesday, 15 May 2012

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 765 No. 3

First Page Previous Page Page of 408 Next Page Last Page

 438.  Deputy Timmy Dooley Information on Timmy Dooley Zoom on Timmy Dooley  asked the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs Information on Frances Fitzgerald Zoom on Frances Fitzgerald  the appointments made by her to State boards under the remit of her Department since March 2011 that were advertised. [24240/12]

Minister for Children and Youth Affairs (Deputy Frances Fitzgerald): Information on Frances Fitzgerald Zoom on Frances Fitzgerald I would like to inform the Deputy that the position in respect of public bodies under the auspices of my Department is that there are four agencies funded by the Exchequer through my Department’s Vote. These are the Adoption Authority of Ireland, the Family Support Agency, the National Educational Welfare Board and the Ombudsman for Children. With effect from 1 January 2012, I have taken responsibility for the children detention schools as provided in Part 10 of the Children Act 2001. They are funded through my Department’s Vote and I am responsible for the appointment of their board of management.

In relation to the NEWB, I have made five appointments to the Board since my appointment as Minister for Children and Youth Affairs. Mr. Brendan Broderick was appointed based on a nomination of the trade unions and staff associations representing teachers and Mr. Eamonn Flynn was appointed to the NEWB based on a nomination of the Educational Welfare Officers as I am obliged to consult with specified bodies in the process of these appointments. I recently appointed Ruairí Gogan, nominated by the Minister for Justice and Equality, Bob Dowling, nominated by the Minister for Health and Mary Donnelly, nominated by the Minister for Social Protection.

In relation to the FSA, there have been 11 members appointed to the Board since my appointment as Minister, namely Sharon Foley, Dick Hickey, Catherine Hazlett , Marie Fenlon, Yvette O’Malley (resigned 10 November, 2011), Liz Chaloner, Nuala Ryan, Imelda Martin, Caroline Murphy, Nollaig Byrne and Dr Martin Griffin. I have recently appointed Sharon Foley as Chairperson following her meeting with the Joint Oireachtas Committee for Health and Children on 8 March, 2012. I have also re-appointed 5 members of the Board, namely, Marie Fenlon, Imelda Martin, Catherine Hazlett, Dick Hickey and Caroline Murphy whose term will run until 31st March 2013.

I have made one appointment to the Board of the AAI since my appointment. Imelda Ryan was appointed in February, 2012.

In relation to the Board of Management for the Children Detention Schools I have made 11 appointments, effective from 26 March, 2012, namely Joe Horan, Dan Kelleher, Gerard McKiernan, Ursula Kilkelly, Diego Gallagher, Sylda Langford, Colin Fetherston, Pat Rooney, Elizabeth Howard, Barry Rooney and Deirdre Keyes. I appointed Joe Horan as Chairperson after he also met with the Joint Oireachtas Committee on 8 March 2012.

There is no Board for the Ombudsman for Children’s Office.

In line with the Government policy in relation to appointments to State boards, on my Department’s website I have invited expressions of interest from persons interested in being appointed to the Boards of State Bodies and Agencies operating under the Department’s aegis. The notice indicates the vacancies in the boards of the respective bodies. In making my decisions on appointments to Boards, subject to the governing legislation, I consider the most suitable persons for the positions available with due regard to the body or agency in question and its particular responsibilities and I seek to ensure that the appropriate mix of skills and experience is in place to achieve the best result.

Last Updated: 24/08/2015 11:13:11 First Page Previous Page Page of 408 Next Page Last Page