Houses of the Oireachtas

All parliamentary debates are now being published on our new website. The publication of debates on this website will cease in December 2018.

Go to

Written Answers - Appointments to State Boards

Tuesday, 15 May 2012

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 765 No. 3

First Page Previous Page Page of 408 Next Page Last Page

 393.  Deputy Timmy Dooley Information on Timmy Dooley Zoom on Timmy Dooley  asked the Minister for Justice and Equality Information on Alan Shatter Zoom on Alan Shatter  the appointments made by him to State boards under the remit of his Department since March 2011 that were advertised; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [24249/12]

Minister for Justice and Equality (Deputy Alan Shatter): Information on Alan Shatter Zoom on Alan Shatter The information requested is set out below.

Property Services Regulatory Authority

I appointed a Chairperson and ten ordinary members to the Property Services Regulatory Authority (PSRA) on 3 April 2012. These appointments were made following the seeking of expressions of interest from members of the public in December 2011.


Geraldine Clarke

Ordinary Member

Regina Terry

Myles O’Reilly

Paul Mooney

Josephine Henry

Martin Hanratty

Deirdre Fox

James Doorley

Patrick Davitt

Edward Carey

Carol Boate

I can also inform the Deputy that, of the other State board appointments that I have made since March 2011, none were advertised either for reasons of timing, in that vacancies had to be filled quickly, or because relevant legislation required that the appointments be made on the nomination of a particular professional body. However, I wish to further inform the Deputy that I plan to seek expressions of interest from members of the public regarding the filling of further vacancies on State boards, unless on a case by case basis, such a process is thought to be impractical.

Last Updated: 24/08/2015 11:13:10 First Page Previous Page Page of 408 Next Page Last Page