Houses of the Oireachtas

All parliamentary debates are now being published on our new website. The publication of debates on this website will cease in December 2018.

Go to

Written Answers - Hospital Staff

Thursday, 19 April 2012

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 762 No. 1

First Page Previous Page Page of 170 Next Page Last Page

 178.  Deputy Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin Information on Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin Zoom on Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin  asked the Minister for Health Information on James Reilly Zoom on James Reilly  if it is the case that a FETAC level 5 qualification is now required for multi-task assistants and or carers on night duty in community hospitals or otherwise; the qualifications required for such staff; if such standards are applied consistently across the State; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [19589/12]

Minister of State at the Department of Health (Deputy Kathleen Lynch): Information on Kathleen Lynch Zoom on Kathleen Lynch Under the Health Act 2007, statutory responsibility is given to the Chief Inspector of Social Services, part of the Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA), for the independent inspection and registration of certain categories of designated centres. This includes residential care settings for older people. This responsibility is underpinned by a comprehensive quality framework comprising the Health Act 2007, the Health Act 2007 (Care and Welfare of Residents in Designated Centres for Older People) Regulations 2009, as amended, and the National Quality Standards for Residential Care Settings for Older People in Ireland. Standard 24 requires that “Staff receive induction and continued professional development and appropriate supervision”. The underlying criteria require that “All newly recruited care staff and those in post less than one year commence training to FETAC Level 5 or equivalent within two years of taking up employment. Long standing care staff have their competency and skills assessed to determine their need for further training and suitable arrangements are put in place to meet their identified needs”.

HIQA commenced this registration and inspection regime for all nursing homes, public, private and voluntary in 2009.

Last Updated: 24/08/2015 11:11:50 First Page Previous Page Page of 170 Next Page Last Page