Houses of the Oireachtas

All parliamentary debates are now being published on our new website. The publication of debates on this website will cease in December 2018.

Go to

Written Answers - Appointments to State Boards

Tuesday, 27 March 2012

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 760 No. 3

First Page Previous Page Page of 500 Next Page Last Page

 525.  Deputy Jonathan O’Brien Information on Jonathan O'Brien Zoom on Jonathan O'Brien  asked the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine Information on Simon Coveney Zoom on Simon Coveney  if he will provide a full breakdown by gender of all appointments to State boards since February 2011; the current status of State boards regarding the percentage of participation of women and men in each one; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [17556/12]

Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine (Deputy Simon Coveney): Information on Simon Coveney Zoom on Simon Coveney There are currently 12 State Bodies that fall under the aegis of my Department. Of these, I have made appointments to those Boards listed in the following table since I became Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine:

Body/Agency No. of Board Members Names of Board Members 2011 Breakdown of gender (%) No of Board appointments Name
Aquaculture Licensing Appeals Board 7 Mr Brendan Brice
Ms Camilla Keane
Mr Mario J Minehane
Mr Sean Murphy
An tUasal Lorcan O’Cinneide
Mr Michael Sweeney
Female: 14% 2 Ms Camilla Keane
An Bord Bia 15 Mr John Bryan
Mr Gary Brown
Dr Noel Cawley
Mr John Comer
Mr Michael Cronin
Ms Anne Maria Dennison
Mr Kieran Dunne
Mr Frank Hayes
Ms Rhona Holland
Mr John Kingston
Prof Fergal O’Gara
Mr Brody Sweeney
+2 vacancies
Female: 15% (including the Chair) Mr John Bryan
Mr Gary Brown
Mr John Comer
Mr Michael Cronin
Ms Rhona Holland
Mr John Kingston
Mr Brody Sweeney
Bord Iascaigh Mhara (BIM) 6 Mr Enda Bonner
Mr Thomas Kavanagh
Mr Sean O’Donoghue
Mr Paidi O’Se
+1 vacancy
Female: 20% 1 Mr Sean O’Donoghue
Bord na gCon 7 Mr Timothy Gilbert
Mr Tony McNamee
Mr Brendan Moore
Mr Matt Murphy
Mr William O’Dwyer
Ms Teresa Wall
Female: 14% (incl re-appointed) Mr Tim Gilbert
Mr Tony McNamee
Mr Brendan Moore
Mr Matt Murphy
Coillte 9 Mr Breffini Byrne
Mr Denis J Byrne
Ms Alma Kelly
Mr Oliver McCabe
Mr Seamus Murray
Dr Yvonne Scanlan
Mr Frank Toal
+1 vacancy
Female: 25% 1 Mr Oliver McCabe
Horse Racing Ireland 14 Mr Bernard Caldwell
Mr Noel Cloake
Mr William Flood
Mr Joe Heron
Mr Michael Hickey
Mr Francis Hyland
Mr Noel Meade
Mr John Moloney
Mr Jim Nicholson
Mr Neville O’Byrne
Ms Mary O’Connor
Mr John Power
Mr Roddy Ryan
Female: 7% 3 Ms Mary O’Connor
Mr Noel Meade
Irish National Stud 7 Mr Jim Beecher
Dr Sean Brady
Mr P.J. Fitzpatrick
Ms Jessica Harrington
Mr Paul Shelly
Mr Dermot Weld
Female: 29% 0
Marine Institute 9 Mr Francis Coyle
Prof Bernie Hannigan
Mr Richard Flynn
Mr Lorcan O’ Cinneide
Dr Eleanor O’Higgins
Ms Emer Rogan
Mr Michael Walsh
+1 vacancy
Female: 38%  
National Milk Agency 14 Mr Eamonn Bray
Mr Jerome Crowley
Mr Richard Donohue
Mr John Foster
Mr George Kearns
Mr Donal Kelleher
Mr Michael Kilcoyne
Mr Walter Maloney
Mr Eamonn McEnteggart
Mr Padraig Mulligan
Mr John O’Callaghan
Mr Tony O’Driscoll
Mr Frank Tobin
Female: 0% 0
Sea Fisheries Protection Authority (SFPA) 3 Mr Andrew Kinneen
Mr Micheal O’Mahony
Female: 0% 0
Teagasc 11 Mr James J Brett
Ms Marie Christie
Mr Tom Collins
Mr Eddie Downey
Mr Joe Fizgerald
Prof Patrick Fottrell
Mr Padraig Gibbons
Mr Martin Heraghty
Mr Frank O’Mahony
Ms Margaret Sweeney
Female: 18% 1 Thomas Cooke — nominated by ICMSA
Veterinary Council 19 Ms Barbara Bent
Mr William Cashman
Mr Joseph P Cassidy
Mr Joseph A Collins
Mr Daniel J Connolly
Mr Thomas Hanley
Ms Dairine MacFadden
Ms Grace Mulcahy
Mr Finbar Mulligan
Ms Melanie O’Donoghue
Mr John O’Rourke
Ms Margaret O’Sullivan
Ms Meta Osborne
Mr Seamus Quinn
Mr Patrick J Rogan
Mr Fergus Smith
Mr Patrick J Talty
Ms Lindy Vaughan
Female: 37% 5 Mr Peadar Ó’Scanaill
Mr Michael Patrick Mary Sadlier
Ms Deirdre Patricia Campion
Mr Martin Blake

Last Updated: 03/09/2015 14:19:45 First Page Previous Page Page of 500 Next Page Last Page